More Vocab words and another essay that needs writing.

Added to this week’s list of Vocabulary:

Hostile, mortal, myth, petrify, quiver, scamper, shriek, wrath.

 

At the rate my kids are going, the SAT will be a snap.

 

The Landscape project draws nearer to completion.  Currently Mr. Brilliant is creating the Native American village.  I had planned on him keeping all his work centered on Native American’s of the LowCountry, however, he just cannot sink his teeth into writing about any of the tiny tribes of this area.  He’s decided to write, instead, about the Cherokee.  Fair enough, he’s 1/16th or 1/32 Cherokee (both kids have black eyes, a gift from their Cherokee many-times great-grandmother).

A side note about our own family history here; one reason I’m spending so much of this school year focused on the Civil War is this; Mr. Brilliant and Miss Bliss had family fighting for both the Blue and the Grey.  The family myth goes as follows, two brothers, hailing from Virginia, enlisted on different sides, unbeknownst to each other.  After a nasty battle, one soldier runs home, AWOL, and, upon hearing from his mother that his brother may well have been fighting on the other side at this same battle, he decided to desert.  He fled to Tennessee.  The brother, wounded, and released from the army, followed his deserter brother.  The two brothers met, had a terrible fight, and mended their fences and settled down in a sparsely settled area of western Tennessee.  One of the brothers married a Cherokee woman.  When the US government demanded the resettlement of the Cherokee nation, these grand-parents of my children removed to Oklahoma.  I believe that the son of the man married to the Cherokee woman married a woman who was mostly Cherokee, so that is why it is unclear if my children are 1/16 or 1/32 Cherokee.

So Mr. Brilliant is going to write about the Cherokee of South Carolina as part of his Landscape project.  He still needs to write about the flora and fauna included in his Landscape, then he writes a review.  Questions to be answered in the review include;

  • What part of the project was the most fun?
  • What was the most difficult?
  • What would you do differently next time?
  • How did you and your parent work as a team?
  • Are there any changes you would like to make to how you work for a future projects?

About ahomeschool

From San Francisco via the Beltway, I am an educator, journalist, and aspiring chef. I am mom to two brilliant children, and my husband is also a genius. Welcome to my world of being a sub-genius in a genius household. (I'm not down on myself, my IQ is 127. My daughter's is 155, my son's is 139, my husband is 170. See. Sub-genius. I'm still smarter than the average bear).

One response »

Leave a comment